RSS Feed

To finish or not to finish….that is the question. (Penny Lisa)

Posted on

2402c5eeba0d429c49cb3f91a758fa42April 23, 2015 is Talk Like Shakespeare Day.  In celebration of this obscure holiday, I am pondering my version of his age old question from Hamlet.  “To be or not to be, that is the question.”  To finish or not to finish, that is the question.

Like everyone else, my time is very precious to me.  Always seeking ways to maximize this resource, I find myself plugging any available gaps with the things I love.  Reading, either visually or via audiobooks is the easiest way for me to do what I love in bits and pieces when and wherever I find myself with a few moments of downtime.

With that being said, I find myself conflicted when I agree to read and review an ARC or participate in a blog tour and the book just does not resonate with me.  The past week and a half has been one that pushed me to my limits with three stories that just did not cut it for me.  I struggled with implausible plots, characters I did not like and writing that teetered on juvenile.  I finished two out of three, but the last one has me putting my foot down.  Yes, I agree to read a books in exchange for an ARC.  But sometimes, what I agree to read based upon a blurb does not end up resembling what I took from info provided.

So, to honor the great bard, the question must be asked, “To finish or not to finish?”  And to honor myself, the answer is NOT TO FINISH.  With a world filled with more books than I will ever be able to read, I can’t allow my time to become hijacked by a story that does not capture, keep or dominate my interest and attention.    Books are an escape, an opportunity to learn about new people, places or things.   They are my chosen vehicle to go to times and destinations I may never be able to visit in real life.  Because life is short, it’s too short to spend reading books that are just not for me.

My intent is not to disrespect anyone regarding what they have written.  It is to stay true to myself, my joy and my love of reading.

 

Leave a Reply

