RSS Feed

Blog Tour, Review and Giveaway ~ Killer Queen by L.H. Cosway (Penny Lisa)

Posted on

blogtour_LHCKillerQueenCover6x9-NEW

 

Killer Queen by LH Cosway

Publication Date: October 20 ,2014

Cover Designed by: Letitia from Romantic Book Affairs

LHCKillerQueenCover6x9-NEW

 

Synopsis 3

Willkommen, Bienvenue, Welcome…

Come inside The Glamour Patch club to see the star of our show, Miss Vivica Blue.

Do you want to read my diary you nosy little devils? Have a glass of champagne (you’ll need it) and get comfortable because you’re in for some crazy shenanigans brought to you straight from the horse’s mouth.

I can be whatever you want me to be: boy, girl, a little bit of both.

If you have a problem with a man in a dress then best be off with you. If males in make-up give you the willies, then I’ll say au revoir and don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

So, who are we left with? Ah, a fine collection of curious souls. I want to tell you a tale of love, because those are the most glorious kind. I want to tell you about real love, a love that transcends labels and gender stereotypes.

The moment I first laid eyes on my Freda I knew that we were kindred. Well okay, I also knew I wanted to get into her pants, but that’s beside the point. My world was a grey place. I was at my lowest ebb. Then she came along and patches of colour began to spring forth. One day the daffodils were yellow and before I knew it, colour was everywhere, lighting up my life.

Love is not about how we appear on the outside, it’s about the soul contained within.

Our story was not a conventional one, but it was ours, and that’s what made it shine.

Killer Queen is a companion novel to L.H. Cosway’s contemporary romance, Painted Faces. It contains scenes that take place before, during and after the original story. It can also be read as a standalone.

KQ-9

Add it to your Goodreads TBR list HERE

Review

My introduction to LH Cosway was through reading Still Life with Strings in a book club I belonged to; I was very impressed with Ms. Cosway’s writing style.  She brings a freshness that is hard to describe, and her characters are just so incredibly engaging.

The interest level of her characters was kicked up a notch in Painted Faces when we were introduced to Nicholas/Viv and Freda/Fred.  While written from Fred’s point of view, the book blended the mundane and magical into something very special.

With Killer Queen, the story is retold through Nicholas/Viv’s point of view.  My first mental comparison between the two stories was the difference in the way Nicholas viewed Freda versus the way she saw herself.  He used words like curvy, beautiful, exquisite, vibrant, and gorgeous to describe her.  I wasn’t sure I was reading about the same Fred until half way into the book when a female rival made a derogatory comment about her body.  It was then that I realized how differently he viewed her from how she saw herself.

I loved that there was deeper explanation into how Nicholas became what he is and how his deep love for his mother affected him in a way to attempt to personify her in himself on stage.  Not all of his performances reflected this, but the idea of being a performer like she was provided him another connection to her.

Nick’s use of his Vivica Blue persona as an excuse to keep Fred close was also expounded on and once again refreshing to see if from his perspective.  He loves the fact that Freda has purist innocence about her.  He wants that to rub off on him while he rubs some of himself on her.

“When I was done with her, she wouldn’t even know the meaning of the word embarrassment anymore, because I was going to dirty all her clean right up.”

It was just as emotional to go through the highs and lows in Killer Queen as it was in Painted Faces.  You could feel the joy and hurt on both sides and it was somewhat magnified once you had both sides of the equation of what was truly happening.

“When you said it to me, I could tell you truly felt it and it terrified me.  That is why I sang that song to you when you came to the gig to see me.  I needed to drive you away somehow.  I’ve never had a time in my life when I’ve been consistently balanced.”

The unconditional love that exists between these characters makes me hope that there will be another story about them in the future.  LH Cosway has definitely made her way onto my must read list.

Killer Queen 1

Excerpt

I was sitting on a stool in her kitchen as she mixed orange cupcake frosting; she’d set me to work placing paper cake holders into oven trays. Fred was wearing a royal blue top with a sweetheart neckline that framed her tits to perfection. Needless to say, I was quite happy with the scenery. She was too flustered trying to get everything ready on time to notice my ogling, which was an added bonus.

“This is hazardous work,” I said playfully. “A boy could give himself a paper cut. Am I going to get danger pay?”

She raised one eyebrow as she used a big spoon to stir. “You’re getting no pay, Viv. This is my reward for going shopping with you the other day. I’ve never known a straight man who enjoyed fashion as much as you. I’ve got blisters on my feet and everything.”

I chuckled and reached out to dip two fingers in the frosting she was stirring. Then I deviously brought them to my mouth as she watched, forming a “V” as I licked it away, my eyes levelled on her all the while. Her breath hitched, and I saw a tiny hint of red colour her cheeks as she studiously avoided my gaze. She knew exactly what I was imitating, and I hoped it made her think naughty thoughts.

 

KQteaser-release day

 

Playlist

 

Killer Queen 2

Author Bio

242

L.H. Cosway has a BA in English Literature and Greek and Roman Civilisation, and an MA in Postcolonial Literature. She lives in Dublin city. Her inspiration to write comes from music. Her favourite things in life include writing stories, vintage clothing, dark cabaret music, food, musical comedy, and of course, books.

 

Author Links

 BLOG . FACEBOOK . TWITTER . GOODREADS

KQ-7

 

Giveaway 1

  • Prize one: Signed copy of Killer Queen, Killer Queen tote bag, Limited edition MAC Rocky Horror Make-Up, Rocky Horror Picture Show Soundtrack CD signed by Nicholas.
  • Prize two: Signed copy of Killer Queen & Killer Queen tote bag.

 For a chance to win, enter HERE

 

Also Available

Painted Faces

 

GOODREADS . AMAZON US . AMAZON UK

Killer Queen 3

Leave a Reply

