RSS Feed

BLOG TOUR ~ BOOK REVIEW ~ THE COLLAR OF FREEDOM ~ BY ALEXANDRA I ~ PENNY STEPHANIE

Posted on

Banner (3)

Cover (12)

Title: The Collar of Freedom

Author: Alexandra I

Release Date: May 27, 2014

Find on Goodreads 

Synopsis 3

Amelia Jones knows the truth; she lives and breathes it every day. The endless monotony of a loveless marriage, and years of domestic slavery stretch before her in minutes and hours that are destined to end in a mental breakdown.

Then Alexander Reeves walks through the door.

Her new boss is intriguing, charismatic and clearly driven by unspoken demons, and while Amelia knows she’s playing with fire, she’s relentlessly drawn to the man. Alexander is just as taken by her, but knows that giving into temptation can only end in disaster. When the couple succumb to a passionate, furious battle of the wills, Amelia is thrilled and afraid; Alexander’s erotic preferences are shocking to the uninitiated. The trouble is, wild as his life may seem, Amelia knows that he at least is living. Alexander may bring about her ruin, but he also holds the secret to her salvation, and Amelia prays she might be able to save him too.

Review

5 Pennies

HOT, STEAMY, SEXY, DECEPTION, and MANY SURPRISES

Amelia Jones feels stuck in her everyday life, having her kids gone to visit her mother in the States just emphasized the fact that there was nothing left of her marriage.  Her husband was too self-absorbed to notice the world around him.  Her whole life was turned on its side the day she met her new boss Alexander Reeves.

Alexander Reeves is the epitome of SEXY Alpha male.  He has come to London for a job, but finds much more than he expected.

The first encounter between Amelia and Alexander is indescribable.  There is an electricity, a force that draws them together.  Amelia is a very committed married woman, but she can’t deny that Alex is having an extreme affect on her.  Alex loves to dominate and always expects to get his way.  After meeting Amelia he feels he might have met his match with this sexy smart mouthed woman.

This book is a steamy erotic romance with a great story line.  The author caught me off guard many times throughout the book.  It is not just about the sex, this book is so much more.  I enjoyed every minute of it.  I believe there is still so many secrets to be uncovered and can’t wait to read more about Amelia and Alexander in the next book.

Teaser 1 (2)

Buy Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Excerpt

“Mr. Reeves, this way.” Quinn appears out of nowhere in the parking lot, interrupting our conversation.

“Thank you, Quinn.” He turns to me. “Quinn will take your car home. You’ll ride with me.”

“What?” Out of nowhere, he startles me with a silly proposition, shocking me completely. “No, thank you. I’m fine.” No way!

“I know you are fine, Amelia. Hand me your keys, please. Quinn can drive your car safely home.”

“That’s okay, Alexander, I can drive myself home,” I say almost too soon.

I am not going to give him the reigns of my love!

“Are you worried for your car, Amelia?” He cocks his head at me and, I’m not sure I’m happy with his comment. This is certainly not a joking matter.

“As a matter of fact, I am. I love my car!” I say proudly.

“Don’t worry, Mrs. Jones. I’ll take good care of it,” Quinn interjects.

I look at them and they are both smirking, entertained by my possessiveness. For a moment I want to argue my point, to tell them what cars mean to me, but instead, I give in. I rummage through my bag and involuntary hand over my keys, pouting.

“Here.”

I stand in silence by Her Majesty while I watch my Cloud Nine leaving the parking lot with Quinn. Honestly, I feel my heart clenching.

“You really like your car, don’t you, Amelia?” The amusement in his voice doesn’t bode well for me.

“No. I love my car,” I respond with a solemn look in my face.

“Well, do you want to drive my car instead?”

Wh…what? My eyes open wide. Does this man know cars are my ecstasy? I don’t think I have divulged this information to anyone. Ok, breathe, Amelia. And close your mouth. He can see right through you.

“Drive it? Um…yes. Yes. Why not?”

I try hard to look casual but it’s futile. My pupils dilate when he hands me the keys. I feel like an addict trying to stop taking the drugs offered but the dealers are getting the better of me, luring me into a web of roads on a one way journey to heaven.

I hold the keys and I feel this is it. The highlight of my life. I’ll ride Her Majesty. The Trident. So what? There is something seriously wrong with me. But at the moment, I don’t care. Ah! I wish I could moan out loud.

“Are you okay, Amelia?”

Alexander is amused. I know by now my façade is down and he can see what’s going on in my head.

“Mhm.”

I don’t let him interrupt my thought process. This is important. I look at the Trident and smile. The open-top, two-seater roadster looks like it’s built for cumming, not riding. Powered by a mid-front mounted 6.6-liter turbo diesel engine that produces 430 horsepower, it has an optional power boost that can bump the car’s output further into the neighbourhood of 660 horsepower. I mean…can you imagine? It would allow me to hit zero to 62 mph in just 3.7 seconds with a top speed of 200 mph. And how do I fucking know this? I am perplexed. All the reading I’ve done on cars, it’s something that’s coming out of my head, you ask me and I know it. Like Rain Man. I’m glad Alexander doesn’t know about my passion or I am sure he would be jealous. My bond with cars is very intense.

I enter the car and make myself comfortable. The seat cradles me gently, giving my body exactly what it needs. I close my eyes, relishing the moment until I am jolted by Alexander’s door closing. Oh! I am not alone. I put the seat belt on and adjust everything around me to match my height and size. I look at Alexander; he is observing me quietly, possibly entertained by my seriousness.

“Do you like cars, Amelia?” I see a ghost of a smile on his face.

I look at him gravely.

“You are joking, right? If you had done your research on me properly, you would know.”

Ugh. He is still looking at me, amused. I don’t need to tell people I love cars. Surely that can be seen by my actions. And he claims he knows all about me. Well, I guess not.

I turn away from him and put the key in the ignition. The sound of the machine calms me down. My approved white noise. This Spartan car is waiting for me to ride her. Going through the brass ceiling for all women in the world, I promise I will drive it in good and in bad, to have and to hold… and with a screech I turn her around and leave the parking lot.

I drive along the road going to the A3 highway and my anticipation is building up. That’s where I will squeeze out her strength; see what she is made of.

“Woohoo!!” I yell and glance at Alexander. He is now almost leaning on the door, looking at me falling in love with his car. Surely this is wrong! It must be! I would never allow it for my Cloud Nine.

I am grinning and he is too, enjoying me enjoying myself.

“You don’t think I have done proper research on you?”

“What do you think? If there is one thing anyone should know about me is my passion for cars!” I say as I and turn wide into A3. It is a fucking smooth ride. I make sure I break just before the speed cameras on the road, the ones taking photos of naughty drivers like me, but the rest of the way is wrooming fast. I look at Alexander and he is not at all concerned for my speed, pushing this car over the limit.

“Alexander, tell me about Madison.” I hope I caught him unprepared. I’m dying to find out about her.

“Madison?” He crooks his eyebrows at me and then, looks at the road. “That came out of nowhere.” A short silence ensues before he starts talking. “She used to be a good friend of mine. Stuck with me through thick and thin. We were very close until I met my …um, Sophie.”

Sophie? “What happened then?” I dare not ask for Sophie.

“She was still around, following me. I think it was hard on her seeing me with somebody else, and after a while, she gave up.”

“She was probably in love with you.”

“Yes, a long time ago. Not anymore.”

“Then why is she following you here, halfway round the world?”

“I don’t know. Please don’t you worry yourself with it, Amelia. I promise you, I’ll have it under control soon.”

We are nearing my neighbourhood and I focus back on the car. If I’m really honest, I don’t want this ride to end. Just in front of my house I brake hard and turn into the driveway, easing back on the gas. The car starts to run wide and I quickly lift off the gas and the back end gets lighter, rotating and pointing itself in the direction of the road. Ha-ha! With my parking techniques I am able to horse the Trident into this, grin-inducing behaviour. I park perfectly in my driveway while Alexander looks at me, surprised at my skill I’m sure.

“Whoa! And this is exactly the reason why I want to give you this car,” he exclaims.

My head is buzzing, still high from the drive and, I thought… What did he say?

“I’m sorry, what did you say?”

“I said I want you to have this car. You…You’ve just had sex with her and I can’t have it back. It’s yours.”

I have the biggest grin on my face. I am happy because he knew. But I certainly will not accept the car. It’s ridiculous. I shake my head, knowing what my soul wants and telling it to stop dreaming.

“No. No way. I cannot accept it.”

“This car has been yours from day one, Amelia. It’s not about you accepting it. It’s about driving it. She needs to be driven by you. If you respect cars as much as you say, you know what I mean.”

“Alexander, I’m a Cloud Nine girl. Her Majesty is only for special occasions.” I place my hand on his thigh and smile. “You are my special occasion.”

I cannot possibly cheat on my Cloud Nine.

“Her Majesty?”

“Um…that’s her name. In my head.” Should I feel embarrassed? Oh well. “Go ahead and laugh. I have already said too much.”

Teaser 2 (2)

Playlist

Lucky Ones – Lana del Ray – YouTube video – Alexandra says this song goes with the following part of the book:

I grab my bag and walk through the empty room, glancing at his office. The door is closed, the blind down. No one’s there. I take the stairs to the parking lot, heading straight for my Cloud Nine. Something doesn’t make sense to me. I have a strange twinge in my heart that I don’t understand. I feel….argh, the sooner I’m out of here the better for me and my sanity.

I put the key in the ignition and the radio comes on with the “Lucky Ones” by Lana Del Ray blaring through the speakers.

I got so scared I felt no one could save me

You came along, scooped me up like a baby,

No…get out of my mind! An unexpected wave of emotions crashes on top of me and my lips begin to tremble. I shake my head. “It’s stupid to cry!” My voice quivers as I say it and a lump forms in my throat. My eyes blur from the engorged tears, overflowing and warm, running down my face. Still, with my lips pressed tight, I keep wiping them with the back of my hand, but they don’t stop, they just flow. I drive away, changing gears, and the moment the chorus comes on, out of nowhere, I’m tipped over the edge. The song is fitting, the sound resonating in the car and my voice is gone, I’m whimpering and soon I give in. Sobbing quietly at first and then louder and louder, I’m letting it all out.

“..Every now and then the stars align,

boy and girl meet by the great design,

Could it be that you and me are the lucky ones…”

If I don’t believe in love at first sight then why am I crying like a little girl? Why the fuck? My eyes are stinging red and I don’t care, I need to get it out of my system. That’s my penance.

 Teaser 3

Book Trailer

YouTube

Favorite Quotes:

“…Sometimes you have to decide if you want to step forward into growth or step back into safety, dear.”

_____________________________

“I want you wet for me at all times. I don’t know when I might want to fuck you.”

_____________________________

“Playing with fire, I have accidently woken a deity inside my soul, and I am not sorry. I think I’m not. I’ve read somewhere about this. There is a goddess of ecstasy and sexual pleasure inside each of us, riding naked on the back of a lion, waiting to be released into the mainstream.”

_____________________________

“My safe word?”

“Fuck me.”

_____________________________

“Love …is not enough. It’s something deeper, stronger, and harder, almost painful. Something I want to keep inside of me forever, but at the same time throw it away because I know having it so deep and feeling it so strong can only be detrimental for me. I have others to think about. I have a different kind of priority”

_____________________________

“I only wanted a fuck. Not the world.”

_____________________________

“I have been placid all my life, allowing friendly bullies to push me around. Wherever I have ended up is because someone pointed me towards it. I never got a say in anything. And…it’s the first time in my life that I want something. I know I shouldn’t, but I do.”

_____________________________

“It’s not about hurting my feelings…it’s about wasting our lives. Feelings change, but we have only one life. And we have the right to live it fully. We owe it to ourselves.”

Fun Facts about Alexandra:

She used to be a backing dancer for a famous rock band

________________________

Alexandra is a retro girl – most of her clothes are from the sixties. She designed the interior in her house and, yes, it’s all with the sixties and seventies feel.

________________________

Her superpower is summoning rain when least wanted

________________________

She is a true shoewhore – heels are her weakness!

________________________

Alexandra has a Masters in Science and is due to start her PhD degree (so erm…not everything is about smut I guess lol)

Character Casting:

Collar Casting

Author Bio

According to Nietzsche, the best author will be the one who is ashamed to become a writer. Hmmm….Times have certainly changed since then. Shame? What shame?

Alexandra, a singing and dancing force not to be reckoned with, especially when she holds a microphone, is someone who imagined her life will be just like in the film ‘Grease’. So she found her ‘Danny’, married him and right at this moment she is annoyed his car doesn’t fly.

When she isn’t glued to her trusty laptop creating magic, Alexandra prowls the pits of twitter … find her there if you dare.

Author Links

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Amazon

SBP (4)

Leave a Reply

