RSS Feed

Offside by Shay Savage ~ Review ~ Penny Pam

Posted on

Offside

Written by Shay Savage

Published on August 3, 2014

Synopsis 3

I have to be the best. I am the best. I’m quick. I’m strong. I’m smart. I’m the star keeper of my high school soccer team, and I’ve got major leagues scouting me. As their captain, my teammates will do anything I say – on or off the field. Girls practically beg to be added to my list of conquests. As long as I manage to go pro for the best team in the world, I won’t have to worry about my father’s wrath.

I’m Thomas Malone, and I’ve seen to it that the world revolves around me.

There’s a new girl at school, and it’s just a matter of time before she gives in to my charm. This one’s just a little more stubborn than most – she won’t even tell me her name! She’s smart, too. Maybe too smart. I can’t let her in. I can’t let anybody in. I’m not too worried, but even I have to admit she’s interfering with my focus on the goal.
Dad’s not going to be happy about that.

Did I mention I love Shakespeare? Yeah, I know. I’m a walking contradiction. According to the Bard, “Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon them.” Somehow, I got all three.

Now how is anyone supposed to live up to that?

Review

 

4.5 Pennies

I have said it before and I will say it again, Shay Savage is THE writer for a male POV.

I enjoyed this book a great deal, and I am a bit embarrassed to say that I had no idea that this was a fan fic based on Twilight, I know – I am hanging my head in shame, but with that being said, if I must admit to everyone – Twilight started my reading as an adult, I have read those books more than once and I still didn’t find many similarities while reading Offside. If I sit and think really hard about it, I guess there are some, but for me while reading Offside – it was not obvious and if I had never found out about the fan fic part of it, I never would have noticed. Does that mean I am not a observant reader? I don’t think so, but others may not agree……to each their own, I guess.

Now, on to my review……

Offside is about Thomas, he is a soccer God, and with his father’s influence, he believes himself untouchable….but while reading, you can see that even though he was adored and thought everything revolved around himself, Thomas was not happy (don’t get me wrong, the guy was happy – just not all the time) and his life was not as perfect as everyone around him thought. My heart broke for him, it is hard when others put you on a pedestal, I mean really, just think about it…who would want that kind of pressure? So, Thomas is doing what he can to get where he thinks he should be, and then out of the blue he runs into what could be the one to change everything.

Nicole/Rumple is new to the town, when she seems to have caught the eye of the most popular boy around, but does she want his attention? Rumple has had a rocky past, a few mistakes were made and that has made her into the girl she is. She is able to see through all of Thomas’ costumes and finds the real person behind the masks, but can she keep the real person from dawning another costume, just to be who he thinks he is supposed to be?

Then we get into the drama of the story, Thomas’ father, and the accident that happens…there were times I wish I could have just crawled into my kindle to take Thomas away, to show him the love and understanding a parent should show their children, but I couldn’t – all I could do was continue reading, and hoping that things would change. While we watch Thomas try and overcome so much in this story, we see that there are secrets that even I wasn’t expecting, which brought on a round of fear for what was to come.

While writing this review, I have tears in my eyes – for Thomas, Rumple, Thomas’ father….everyone, this is a story that just makes you realize the grass is not always greener on the other side, sometimes the grass is just a bunch of well cut weeds. I would love to give so many thanks to the one and only Shay Savage, you bring your male characters to life, and make me as a reader fall in love with them, flaws and all.

Author Bio

Shay SavageShay Savage lives in Cincinnati, Ohio with her husband, two children, and a variety of household pets. She is an accomplished public speaker, and holds the rank of Distinguished Toastmaster from Toastmasters International. When not writing, she enjoys science fiction movies, masquerading as a zombie, is a HUGE Star Wars fan, and member of the 501st Legion of Stormtroopers. When the geek fun runs out, she also loves soccer in any and all forms – especially the Columbus Crew, Arsenal and Bayern Munich – and anxiously awaits the 2014 World Cup. Savage holds a degree in psychology, and she brings a lot of that knowledge into the characters within her stories.

 

 

 

 

 

Author Links

AMAZON * GOODREADS * FACEBOOK * TWITTER * WEBSITE

Buy Links

AMAZON * B&N * SMASHWORDS

Leave a Reply

