RSS Feed

Lucifer (Book 3, The Redemption Series) by SJ West ~ Review ~ Penny Pam

Posted on

Lucifer (Book 3, The Redemption Series)

Written by SJ West

Published on June 9, 2014

Synopsis 3

Anna’s quest for answers about her future propels her to follow Lucifer down the veritable rabbit hole. During her foolhardy expedition, she discovers the truth about Lucifer’s domain and the truth about Lucifer himself. She learns more about her parents’ forbidden romance from Lucifer’s perspective, and comes to understand that the tie that bonds two souls together can’t even be broken by death itself. All her life, Anna has lived with the knowledge that her mother chose to die in order to give her a chance to live. Being the recipient of such unselfish love and sacrifice, lays a heavy burden on Anna’s heart to make her mother proud.
Anna and the other Watchers soon uncover Lucifer’s master plan to prevent her from obtaining anymore of the seals. She also discovers what the seals will ultimately do to not only her body but also her soul. Armed with this knowledge, Anna can only discern two possible motives for Lucifer’s actions. Either he is simply protecting her the only way he knows how, or he wants to retain his power on Earth and ensure his daughter never stakes claim to her birthright.
In the end, neither reason is good enough to prevent Anna from completing her God given mission to obtain the seven seals and return them to Heaven. Even though Anna can feel the seals begin to change her, her commitment to retrieve them remains unwavering. Only time can reveal if Anna is strong enough to master the power of the seals or if they will ultimately master her.



5 Pennies

Lucifer picks up right where Anna (see my review here) left off.  We get to see inside of Lucifer’s head and his heart, although Lucifer protects both with a wall that has been built over many years, Anna is trying to get past it.  And the question remains, will she be able to continue and complete the mission she has been sent on by God, or will evil overcome her?

We get so much information, along with confirmation, as to what could happen to Anna if she gives into the evil of the seals, that only she can retrieve and return to Heaven.  We get to see the happy and gentle side of Malcolm, which he has shown us in the past, but to see just how much Anna and Malcolm love each other it’s one of those moments that just make you smile.  And to see Malcolm put aside his hatred of Lucifer, so Anna can try to forge a relationship with her biological father, proves love is stronger than hate.

While Anna might do something’s that made me yell at her, (but really – when you love a character or series – who doesn’t sometime yell at their kindle?) I understood her reason behind it, I might not agree, but I understood.  Anna is a stubborn and strong willed woman, who knows she is fighting to protect the world and the people living in it, that she puts her own safety aside to get the answers she is after.

We also get to meet Helena (Hell, personified) and to know what kind of a hold she has over Lucifer, is chilling to watch.  Lucifer, who I have always silently rooted for, showed me more and more, that he deserves to be happy, and deserves to forgive himself.  In the story of life, no matter what we do, good or bad, asking for forgiveness is one of the most hardest things to do.  Lucifer just proved himself at the end of the book, but you will have to read it to find out how.

I am always silently (and sometimes not so silently) stalking the author, waiting for the next book.  This is a series that I can only hope continues (which the wonderful Mrs. West has told us will, with new story lines).  To get the whole effect of this series I wholly recommend reading it in the order that they have been written, you don’t want to go into this being confused or angry for having a story spoilt for you, do you?

Here is the order that they should be read in:

The Watchers Trilogy (Ages 13+) ~ Cursed, Blessed, Forgiven

The Watcher Chronicles (Ages 17+ due to mature content in books 3 and 4) ~ Broken, Kindred, Oblivion, Ascension

Caylin’s Story (Ages 13+ – Can be read by younger readers without having to read the Watcher Chronicles) ~ Timeless, Devoted

The Redemption Series (Ages 17+ due to mature content in books 3 and 4)  ~ Malcolm, Anna, Lucifer

Author Bio

Once upon a time, a little girl was born on a cold winter morning in the heart of Seoul, Korea. She was brought to America by her parents and raised in the Deep South where the words ma’am and y’all became an integrated part of her lexicon. She wrote her first novel at the age of eight and continued writing on and off during her teenage years. In college she studied biology and chemistry and finally combined the two by earning a master’s degree in biochemistry. After that she moved to Yankee land where she lived for four years working in a laboratory at Cornell University. Homesickness and snow aversion forced her back South where she lives in the land which spawned Elvis Presley, Oprah Winfrey, John Grisham and B.B. King. After finding her Prince Charming, she gave birth to a wondrous gift named Caylin and they all lived happily ever after.

Author Links


Buy Links




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: