RSS Feed

BOOK REVIEW~GIVEAWAY~BLOG TOUR STOP~ FIENDISH PLAY by Angela Richardson (Penny Stephanie)

Posted on
 
 
FIENDISH
PLAY
Author: Angela Richardson
Release date:  14th April 2014
Genre:  New Adult Romance
Hosted by: Forever Me Romance
 
 
Synopsis 3


            When James Riley transfers to Cloverley University, he is
instantly on the radar of the most elusive secret society on campus, the
Lappell. James is an artist. A loner. A free thinker. He doesn’t believe in
secret societies and wants nothing to do with them. That is, until everything changes.
Until he meets her. Anais. The girl who changes it all. The girl who makes him
willing to do whatever it takes to own her heart. But the deeper he falls in
love, the deeper he sinks into the secret society that has a hold of her. And
the further he gets caught up in their world, the more he scrapes the edges
about a past he knew nothing about. James has no idea how much of his life is a
part of a story that once broke down the walls of the Lappell, many years ago.
Who can he trust when love and lies collide? 
Buy Links
 
Review5 Pennies

James Riley had no idea about the secrets of his past, his mother and step-father made certain to keep those buried for as long as possible.  So James had no idea what he was walking into when he decided to transfer to the States to finish his last year of college with his mentor, Liam Ashton.

James was going to be rooming with Marcus, who was a son to friends to his parents.  Upon his first night at Cloverley University, he had no idea the can of worms he was opening when he stepped in to help a girl who was being attacked by two men.   But James was a very kind, selfless individual that was an all around good guy, who didn’t like violence but knew how to take care of himself when it was needed.

Anais was a legacy to the secret society that was known as the Lappell.  James didn’t care who she was or what this club meant all he knew was he saw an angel in front of him and he felt an instant connection to her.

The turn of events set in motion by James knocking out the two men attacking Anais and winning the car race to help Anais’ cousin Seth, set into motion a destiny that was never meant to be but without all the information to understand, James was walking right into the battle that many people have spent their lives trying to avoid.

This is not a simple story of boy meets girl and fall in love.  No, this is a story of what happens when money and power makes people think they can control the world and mold it into what they want no matter what the consequences.  The connection between Anais and James is sweet and pretty hot at times.

James is an artist pure and simple and demonstrates it in many ways to Anais, first by the dedication of his sculpture that he is building and then also by the words he speaks.  Like in the book when they are in the moonlight and Anais is trying to convince James that she has a darkness that he fails to see, he states,

“I think you are the moonlight…because even the moonlight needs darkness to shine”

This book traveled back and forth between current time and past, to help the reader put together what all James was blocking and what exactly the past had to do with the present.  I enjoyed this book and was amazed at many of the turns in the plot that I didn’t always see coming.  This cliffhanger was a tough one to take, so I can’t wait to be able to read the second part of this story when it is released to see how it ends.  What will be the fate of James and Anais?  Will the Lappell finally be taken down or will power and money win????

 
Teaser
 
 
What the fuck was going
on here?
I moved closer, brushing along the leaves, making a
rustling sound. Her head lifted up from off her chest hearing the noise I had
made. It was then that I saw her face for the first time. I swallowed back
something lodged in my throat. Amongst my need to get closer and help, I was
completely thrown by her beauty which made my body instantly react. I had to
force myself to breathe, even consciously telling my brain to swallow down a
breath so I wouldn’t pass out from loss of air. I had never had this type of
reaction from seeing a girl before. Perhaps it was because I was trying to make
sense of the urgent situation she was in, but the smarter, more logical side of
my brain told me something different. It told me that my inability to use my
body like a normal person had something to do with my heart constricting and my
pulse racing at the sight of those big brown eyes that were red and glossy with
pained emotion. That, and the fact I was drawn irresistibly to her pale skin
against her chocolate-brown hair. Just the look on her innocent face screamed
at me for an escape. Her image had grounded me like nothing I had ever known. It
was scary. It was beautiful. She looked like a fallen angel in the moonlight. Then
she did something which moved me into immediate action. She mouthed the words
‘help me’.
Fiendish Play
 
Author Bio
Angela Richardson
I live in North Queensland, Australia, and I’m married with two beautiful children who rule my world. I was a nineties teen princess who grew up loving grunge rock, Tarantino, feminism and free thinking. I live for coffee, wine and cheese, music and movies. I enjoy reading anything that’s dark and edgy, but is still romantic and shows lots of originality.  Romance, angst, adventure and melancholia feed my writing obsession. 
Author Links
Facebook link: 
Fiendish Play – Goodreads link: 
Giveaway

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

