RSS Feed

~BOOK REVIEW~THE UNBREAKABLE SERIES (book #1 and #2)~by Amanda Chayse (Penny Stephanie)

Posted on

Unbreakable devotion 2nd cover

UNBREAKABLE DEVOTION

by Amanda Chayse

Published April 20, 2014

GOODREADS

Synopsis 3

Book One in the Unbreakable Series 
Unbreakable Devotion: Young Adult Romance 

Devon and Erin have always been best friends, ever since they were kids. 

Devon 

Playing football at their high school, Devon is thrown into the cool kids’ crowd without any warning. His new friends are rich, cool, and popular…everything Erin isn’t. But even the hot cheerleaders throwing themselves at his feet can’t stop him from thinking about Erin as more than just the girl next door he grew up with. 

Erin 

Erin has never been able to trust anyone. Her dad left her when she was young, and ever since then life has been a string of disappointments. The only thing holding her together through the struggles has been Devon. And now he’s too good for her. 

When Erin’s world is shattered by a horrific event, Devon can’t stop himself from getting involved, but will it rip apart their relationship forever in the process? 

Nothing could break their friendship… until one summer changed everything. 

Review

4.5 Pennies

Book one in the Unbreakable series:

In this book we meet Devon and Erin; they have been friends since childhood.  They were there for each other during hard times when Erin’s dad left her and her mom and with Devon’s dad passed away.  Throughout it all they have remained friends and strong support systems for each other.  So when they started high school they were thrown into different directions, Devon into football and the ‘popular’ kids and Erin with her old friends.

When they were kids Erin would say to Devon, “Promise me you’ll always be my best friend” Devon would respond, “I promise, Erin. Just like yesterday.”

The friendship and support that Devon and Erin have for each other is amazing.  They both have moms that work too hard trying to support them with single incomes and so they are not home very much.  Throughout the book you experience the trials and tribulations of high school when the lines begin to blur between friendship and love.  After Erin almost getting physically hurt on a date, it makes Devon re-evaluate his feelings and what he must do now to help and protect Erin.

The book is told from the point of view of Erin and Devon.  I enjoyed that it went back and forth because it helps the reader to gain more insight into each situation and how each of them feel at that moment.  At the end of the book the cliffhanger about did me in, because it could go one of two ways.  So needless to say, I had to read book 2 immediately following to find out the fate of the relationship/friendship of Devon and Erin.

Excerpt

Devon 

“So I have not seen you around.” Devon looked at Erin, wanting to tell her nothing mattered except her, but not here, not now. 
“It looks like we have both been busy,” Erin said, steely eyed now, arms tightening. “Well, you guys have fun,” Erin said, walking away. 
“Erin, wait!” Devon ran beside Erin, grabbing her shoulders and facing her, looking into her always irresistible eyes. “It’s just a date, Erin. Matt asked these girls out. I didn’t even ask her out.” Devon’s eyes widened in a plea he hoped she would see. Could she hear him? 
“But you said yes,” Erin said in a slightly trembling voice. She looked up at Devon, her eyes looming large in the autumn night. 
Devon’s stomach tightened as he spoke. “Matt and Shannon just wanted someone to go out with her friend. It’s just an innocent get-together, Erin. It’s nothing,” he said. 
“It looks like something from here.” Erin frowned and brushed her long blonde hair off her chest and over her shoulder. 
“Erin, why is this bothering you? Why are you acting this way?” Devon scrambled through his mixed-up thoughts to try to defuse the situation. 
“Guys can be so dumb,” Erin said with furrowed brows and a grimace. “We’re just friends, Devon. It doesn’t matter. C’mon, Kathy, let’s go.” 
Kathy narrowed her eyes at Devon, and sashayed away from him towards her friend and down the sidewalk. Devon gazed at her, his hands in his back pockets, wondering whether Erin wanted to tell him something. He watched them walk away, trying to process what just happened. 

Genre: Young Adult Romance 
Type: Romance Series/Serial 
Warning! This book is not a standalone, and leads into a series with sexually explicit scenes. Mature audiences only! 

Buy Links

AMAZON

Unbreakble love book 2 Amanda Chayse

UNBREAKABLE LOVE

by Amanda Chayse

Released May 4, 2014

GOODREADS

Synopsis 3

Devon 

Devon knows his feelings for Erin have gone way beyond friendship. Over time the feelings have only grown stronger. Even though he can now have any girl he wants, he knows he wants her. Now he has to tell her how he really feels, even though it can cost him everything. 

Erin 

Erin has had a secret crush on Devon for as long as she can remember. But these feelings have only intensified as they have grown older. Now when she sees other girls wanting to be with Devon, it tears her up inside. Having him as a friend is no longer enough. Does he see more in her? When Devon stands between her and harm’s way, her question is answered in one terrifying moment. 

Review

4.5 Pennies

Book 2 in the Unbreakable series:

This book starts where book 1 left off, with Devon explaining to Erin why he must break his promise to her.  At first she is not sure what to think or do, but it quickly becomes clear that their friendship has evolved as they have grown up and matured and they both want to be more than friends.

Throughout this book we are able to see their love grow, but with high school you still have many obstacles that can get in your way.  Erin is able to get a better understanding just how much Devon truly loves her and is very mature in handling the incessant flirting from Kristen.

This book had another major tragedy that occurred, that had the potential to end Devon’s potential future with football and ended his season early.

Again in this book we see the strength that Devon and Erin have for one another when tragedy’s happen.  This book kept me on the edge of my seat at times and I really didn’t expect the cliffhanger that came at the end.  But I am glad I don’t have to wait long to read book #3 to see how Devon and Erin will handle the latest obstacle in their journey in finishing high school, plans for college and discovering how strong their love is.  Can true love and faith get them through the trials ahead?

Excerpt

Erin 

I stood over the pool as Devon pushed off for another lap. My heart was light and I grinned at the thought of surprising him. He was always so excited to see me. He made me feel special; he made me feel beautiful. 

Devon soared to the end of the pool where I was standing as the waves crashed to the walls from his approach. He stood and wiped rivulets of water from his face and pushed up his goggles. His face immediately brightened at the sight of me. That was the look that drove me crazy. 

But then Devon grabbed me and pulled me into the pool. I knew a water war would ensue. We had done it many times over the many summers. But now there was a delightful tension between us that pulled each of us towards each other like powerful magnets. When we tried to fight it, the force would only increase. His laughter, which was now deeper, masculine, and musical, rang off the pool walls and filled my heart like a song. 

I pressed down on him in a playful attempt to dunk him, but his body easily carried my weight. When he turned to me and held me close, our wet bodies together, the intensity was almost too much before I was thrown back into the water. I could pull his trunks down again. He fell for that every time! It made me laugh, but it’s all I could do now. He was too tall and too strong to fight now; when he wrapped his arms around me now, there was no escape. I couldn’t run and I did not want to. Devon turned me to the wall and kissed me like I had never been kissed; I drank in the sweetness of his lips that melted me inside. 

When I was on top of Devon, placing my arms around him, the sound of his laughter made my heart soar inside. I could kill you. I could love you to death. I could tell you how much I love you. I could choke you right now. 

“I have better use for you,” I breathed hot in his ear. Devon lifted me up and plopped me down in front of him. I was the one who was defenseless. There was nothing I could do to stop what I was feeling inside. I wanted Devon to take me right there, if he could. It did not matter to me. We could both die, and nothing else mattered except this feeling. 

Genre: Young Adult Romance 
Type: Romance Series/Serial 
Warning! This series contains sexually explicit scenes. Mature audiences only!

Buy Links

AMAZON

NEW RELEASE: MAY 19, 2014

Unbreakable Together book #3


UNBREAKABLE TOGETHER

by Amanda Chayse

GOODREADS . AMAZON

Book Three in the Unbreakable Series 
Unbreakable Together: Young Adult Romance 

Author Bio

Amanda Chayse is a Romance and New Adult author who has enjoyed writing since she was just a child daydreaming in school.

As she grew up, she focused on passionate stories of strong men and women, oftentimes facing impossible odds, and in relationships that made them even better together.

Don’t miss a single release of her latest books. Sign up for the latest updates and releases at http://www.amandachayse.com.

amanda chayse

Author Links

AMAZON . FACEBOOK . GOODREADS

Leave a Reply

