RSS Feed

A Hunted Man (The Men of Halfway House #2) by Jaime Reese ~ Blog Tour ~ Author Interview ~ Review (Penny Pam)

Posted on

 

A Hunted Man Blog Tour Banner

A Hunted Man400x600Written by Jaime Reese

Published on April 27, 2014

A-Hunted-Man-PRINT

 

Synopsis 3After surviving ten years in prison, Cameron Pierce is attempting to put the past behind him. He tries to adjust to his newfound freedom with a place at the halfway house and a job. But one lesson he learned in prison keeps him guarded: hope is a dangerous thing.

Hunter Donovan, Assistant State Attorney, is a man of justice who loves a challenge. After a lifetime of putting his career first, a milestone brings him to a harsh realization—he’s lonely.

Hunter’s world changes when he meets Cam. The wary young man intrigues him and awakens a desire unlike anything he’s ever experienced. When Cam’s past resurfaces and threatens to rip them apart, their budding relationship is challenged and Cam’s hope for a future begins to dim.

These outside forces hunting Cam will stop at nothing to send him back to prison. But they’ll have to get past Hunter first.

 

ReviewA Hunted Man is the second book of the series, and can I just start out by saying……Jaime did it again.  After reading A Better Man (see my review here) I knew Jaime would soon become one of my favorite authors, and I was right.

In A Hunted Man, we get to meet Cameron (Cam) Pierce, nothing in his life has been easy. The walls he has built around himself to protect him are strong and his fears are even stronger. While he may no longer be in prison, his fears of hope are keeping him locked up inside.

Hunter Donovan, is a strong man in many ways, not only in physical strength, but also he is emotionally strong, he knows who he is and what he wants.  When he first lays eyes on Cameron, he knows there is so much more there than what meets the eye.

Cam is just trying to get by, day by day, he finds himself employed as the “coffee guy” and finds out that he loves it. He quickly learns how to do coffee art. And finds himself thinking more and more about the regular customer that is Hunter. While Cam would still like to never talk about his past in fear of losing Hunter, he soon learns that Hunter is not interested in the why’s of what happened, Hunter just wants to keep Cam close. Hunter learns that keeping Cam close also involves keeping Cam safe.

Hunter is trying to clean up the streets, and learns that not all the evil he is fighting is out on the streets…sometimes it is closer than you ever thought.

Each and every character in this book, good or evil, is so well written that you can’t help but believe in the world that Jaime has created and has allowed us all to join in. While we get glimpses of new characters who will hopefully be able to tell us their stories as well, Hunter and Cam shine like the stars that they are.

There are so many lines in this book that have touched me one way or another, but the one that I think will stay with me for far longer than any of the others is

“You know what the best part of having a gay son is?”

“What’s that:”

“I inherit a second son.”

Instant tears!

Cam and Hunter found their way into my heart, and I found myself fighting along side them trying to gain what they each deserved.

Without any hesitation on my part, I give this book a

5 Pennies

 

 

InterviewHello Jaime, thank you for taking the time to speak with me today.

Thanks so much for the invitation! It’s great to be here 🙂

 I guess my first question would be…. what is next for the men of the Halfway House?

Ooh, put me right into the hot seat! LOL I’m planning on the 3rd book to be Cole’s story.

Do the nerves get any easier when you press that publish button?

 No, they get worse 🙂

Who has been the most memorable character you have written? Who has been the most difficult to get to open up to tell their story?

They are all special to me for different reasons. Julian stands out because he has a simplicity to his nature but a complexity to his character – if that makes sense.

 Cam was the toughest story I’ve had to tell. Tearing him apart was difficult but it was part of his healing process.

What author do you absolutely have to read the moment they publish a book?

 I like the badassery of J.R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series.

What is the best part of being an author?

Hearing from a reader how my story or character touched them.

What is your one vice that you absolutely need to have to write (music, coffee, candy, etc)?

To write, I absolutely need time in my schedule. My regular work is purely deadline driven. This time of year has been particularly busy and, of course, everything that can happen has in the last couple of months. So it’s been a bit crazy. I’m hoping things settle down a bit soon and I can find my happy place so I can sit and write for a while. Once I start, it usually flows if I’m not interrupted too much.

What/Who was the first author you read in this genre?  

My first encounter with M/M was with Suzanne Brockmann’s Troubleshooters series. Within her M/F series was a gay character who caught my attention far more than the main characters of the story. I anxiously waited for his book in the series then I was hooked and on the hunt for more M/M stories. My first official M/M book was Out of My Mind by ML Rhodes. What left the strongest impression on me was how different the story was from others I had read up to that point—the depth of emotion, the complexity of the relationship, just about everything.

If you could say anything to someone who hasn’t read your books, what would that be?

It’s probably not what you would expect 🙂 Give it a try.

 I want to thank you again for taking time out of your busy schedule to talk with me today. I am absolutely in love with all of the men of the Halfway House, and can’t wait to continue to read all about them. I wish you nothing but the best!

 Thank you so much for inviting me!

Author BioAbout me…
Jaime Reese is the alter ego of an artist who loves the creative process of writing, just not about herself. Fiction is far more interesting. She has a weakness for broken, misunderstood heroes and feels everyone deserves a chance at love and life. An avid fan of a happy ending, she believes those endings acquired with a little difficulty are more cherished.

…and yes, it was totally weird reading something about myself in 3rd person 🙂

Author Links

WEBSITE * FACEBOOK * TWITTER *  GOODREADS

 

Buy Links

AMAZON * AMAZON CA * AMAZON UK * BARNES & NOBLE * iBOOKS

Leave a Reply

